layout-head
Modules
· Home
· AvantGo
· Donations
· Forums
· Internet Traffic Report
· Private Messages
· Search
· Your_Account

Google Ads

TweakForce VIPs
Make donations with PayPal!

©
VIP Members

Google
 Forum FAQ  •  Search  •  Memberlist  •  Usergroups   •  Register  •  Profile  •  Log in to check your private messages  •  Log in

XP Readyboost???
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TweakForce Forum Index -> Hardware - Software Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  

Does this work???
Yes
37%
 37%  [ 3 ]
No
62%
 62%  [ 5 ]
Total Votes : 8

Author Message
adrichardson
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: Aug 12, 2007
Posts: 2489

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 8:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's where I get cold feet with raid0 - bad news when it starts going wrong...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GOZ
TF Admin
TF Admin


Joined: Aug 11, 2007
Posts: 1077
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 8:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have ran raid 0 for a while now well my last 2 systems and have never had one prob, with setup or anything.

Scav is the prob trust me Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
GOZ
TF Admin
TF Admin


Joined: Aug 11, 2007
Posts: 1077
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SCAVENGER1 wrote:
masterfaster wrote:
Also RAID0 can be done with more than 2 identical hard disks. it needs 2, 3, 4 or more hard disks. The upside is the increased performance, the downside is that if one hard disk dies then you lose everything. That's why I highly recommend to create RAID0 with Western Digital RAID Edition hard disks or equivalent if you prefer other brand. (5-year warranty at 24h use)


Seagate all so has the 5yr warranty as well. which i have most of. and i know they stand behind there drives. since i have done it about 3 times so far. i have the 4th 1 that died on me sitting here.

i just have to much info to send it in yet. the 400gig drive has 370+ on it and it will cost me $890 to get the info off of it. since they told me ECC they are the one i sent it to.


Keywords

Seagate

I had 4 die

Hmmmmmm

WD all the way

I had one WD die and it was my fault I guess my external box for hard drives wasn't compatible with a raptor and I didn't know that so it fried lol
you live and you learn..................

lack of power I think Mad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
masterfaster
Dedicated Member
Dedicated Member


Joined: Sep 04, 2007
Posts: 162

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hard disks should not be close to each other. you should leave one space (3.5'') between them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WormKing
Hardcore Member
Hardcore Member


Joined: Dec 29, 2007
Posts: 1950
Location: Hamburg Germany

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thats why i bought one wd caviar for storing and backups. im using my raid0: 2x 250 gig !!! seagates !!! Twisted Evil just for games and 1 os.

i have the backups and my storage on the wd 640 gig.
2 small fast hds only for games and os should be pretty safe.

lol @ guys with one raid0: 2x1000gig , creating one partition for data ,os n games.
BAD IDEA !!! Very Happy

i have raid0 , i have 4 gigs and an e-sata 8gb stick only cost 25 euros here.
it should give me some extra + on boot up & loading times.
so why not ???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
inmani
Dedicated Member
Dedicated Member


Joined: Jan 06, 2009
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 3:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

masterfaster wrote:
hard disks should not be close to each other. you should leave one space (3.5'') between them.


Should, but not necessarily required it depends on other things as well like the heat output and tolerance of the drives and case temps and airflow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
inmani
Dedicated Member
Dedicated Member


Joined: Jan 06, 2009
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 11:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Readyboost does virtually nothing unless your using a performance starved computer that really shouldn't be running Vista/7 over XP in the first place.

Ramdisks which are just SSD's on steroids basically don't even make a huge difference for most stuff unless it's heavily I/O dependent or your trying to just reduce load times.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TweakForce Forum Index -> Hardware - Software Discussion All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Forums ©
layout-foot