layout-head
Modules
· Home
· AvantGo
· Donations
· Forums
· Internet Traffic Report
· Private Messages
· Search
· Your_Account

Google Ads

TweakForce VIPs
Make donations with PayPal!

©
VIP Members

Google
 Forum FAQ  •  Search  •  Memberlist  •  Usergroups   •  Register  •  Profile  •  Log in to check your private messages  •  Log in

8gigs of ram?
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TweakForce Forum Index -> Hardware - Software Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  

what should i do ?
create a ram disk for the pagefile
40%
 40%  [ 2 ]
use it as readyboost with eboostr
40%
 40%  [ 2 ]
sell one mofu kit and stick with 4gigs of ram
20%
 20%  [ 1 ]
Total Votes : 5

Author Message
WormKing
Hardcore Member
Hardcore Member


Joined: Dec 29, 2007
Posts: 1950
Location: Hamburg Germany

PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2009 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ive tried 2192mb swap file on ram disk and 3 gig for readyboost...
but the programms ive tested so far wont install under server 08 or just suck!

anyone knows a good free ram disk proggi that works?

edit: ok "Dataram_RAMDisk_v3.5.107" works great here.... now 2gig pagefile in ram + 3 gig eboostr cache. Very Happy

but i have to create a pagefile image on hd to load and save @ startup/ shutdown , or its endless "reboot needed" caused by "new hardware found"
update: i just saved my pagefile to an image and load it on startup. saving @ every shutdown takes to much time.


edit2: nice read speed for a pagefile Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WormKing
Hardcore Member
Hardcore Member


Joined: Dec 29, 2007
Posts: 1950
Location: Hamburg Germany

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok

now 2 gig ram pagefile and 4 gig ebooster...



instead 21mb cache i roll wit 313mb (x14) sweet Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adrichardson
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: Aug 12, 2007
Posts: 2489

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 4:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It'll be interesting to see what the performance differnce is like in games...

Has PF usage gone up? With 4gb ebooster and 2gb PF sitting in your memory, that only leaves 2gb for Vista to play with... I'd have thought 3-4gb for Vista, 2-3gb ebooster and 2gb PF would be more efficient. Keep an eye on PF usage - if it's too high, Vista's getting memory hungry, so shrink the ebooster cache.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WormKing
Hardcore Member
Hardcore Member


Joined: Dec 29, 2007
Posts: 1950
Location: Hamburg Germany

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no i think ebostr give the ram free anyway if its needed, like superfench...


thats my ram usage with nothing running





and here after i started farcry 2 . bf.2 and crysis + running defraggler.... Very Happy


never had the 8 gb in usage here.

the 10 gb total is a bug. he adds the 2 gb pagefile to the total ram , but the pagefile is also in the ram.
i never run out of pf also.

ingame, i have no negative or positive fps impact...

but the loading times are fuggin fantastic with it , and i never had any writing/loading pagefile stutter anymore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TweakForce Forum Index -> Hardware - Software Discussion All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Forums ©
layout-foot