layout-head
Modules
· Home
· AvantGo
· Donations
· Forums
· Internet Traffic Report
· Private Messages
· Search
· Your_Account

Google Ads

TweakForce VIPs
Make donations with PayPal!

©
VIP Members

Google
 Forum FAQ  •  Search  •  Memberlist  •  Usergroups   •  Register  •  Profile  •  Log in to check your private messages  •  Log in

OpenDNS.
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TweakForce Forum Index -> Open Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  

Any one else using this wonderful tool?
Yes
44%
 44%  [ 8 ]
No
5%
 5%  [ 1 ]
Never Heard of it
27%
 27%  [ 5 ]
Getting it Now?
11%
 11%  [ 2 ]
What does it do?
11%
 11%  [ 2 ]
Total Votes : 18

Author Message
GOZ
TF Admin
TF Admin


Joined: Aug 11, 2007
Posts: 1077
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems my ISP already uses openDNS lmao
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
GOZ
TF Admin
TF Admin


Joined: Aug 11, 2007
Posts: 1077
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sycuss wrote:
GOZ wrote:
Starbuck wrote:
A quote from their website: 'More than 3 million people are now using OpenDNS worldwide' I'd say it should work. Smile

On the other hand, why not give it a try? If it doesn't work, just revert your settings and you're done. Smile


AH yes I reverted mine and it still use's them.............I emailed them they just revert back,and it shows your using us still....

I only changed my router.............. now I'm stuck with them so I got to call them to figure it out.

See how they make there money is you type something wrong in the address bar like noob.coms they redirect you to there page with suggestions, Those suggestions are paying OpenDNS money to be on that page.

To me its a different way of spamming IMHO

So I'm getting rid of it ASAP calling them up and telling them to loose my fucking IP



did u make an account? via their web site. i can type noob.com and get a yahoo search on it. how secure is urs set up if u have an account. i am only letting them stopping phishing from happining.


It wasn't noob.com it was noob.coms like a typo and you got to type it in the address bar not the search bar, i found a work around anyway so now it gos back to google search.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
GOZ
TF Admin
TF Admin


Joined: Aug 11, 2007
Posts: 1077
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found a workaround

http://cotcaro.blogspot.com/2008/07/im-feeling-lucky-problem-fix-for.html

Still bull shit that I need to use a work around for this

I'm Feeling Lucky Problem Fix for OpenDNS users

OpenDNS is great service as providing safer and faster surfing experience for web users. However when it comes, it brings a big headache for Firefox and Flock users. You can't use I'm Feeling Lucky searches in address bar any more after registering OpenDNS. I have created an extension that will fix this problem in seconds for Firefox and Flock.


Last edited by GOZ on Mon Apr 13, 2009 10:34 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
brose4636
Hardcore Member
Hardcore Member


Joined: Aug 18, 2007
Posts: 502

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

goz did you change back your primary and secondary dns addresses on your router?
if not this is why you still have them, also you have to delete your ip from the networks page in their dashboard.

after that you should be ok, also if you use their software to change your ip address every so often you have to delete that from your pc.

hope it works out for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GOZ
TF Admin
TF Admin


Joined: Aug 11, 2007
Posts: 1077
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

brose4636 wrote:
goz did you change back your primary and secondary dns addresses on your router?
if not this is why you still have them, also you have to delete your ip from the networks page in their dashboard.

after that you should be ok, also if you use their software to change your ip address every so often you have to delete that from your pc.

hope it works out for you.


1 YES

2 I can't access the networkpage my ISP already uses opendns so I couldn't set it up.

3 Never downloaded their software

But they did mange to hijack my firefox tho, I never had a prob with it till I went to there site.

As I said above I fixed it for now, this pc is the only one with the prob out of the 4 I got so.....

FUCK OPENDNS AND THERE SPAM/SPYWARE SHIT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
brose4636
Hardcore Member
Hardcore Member


Joined: Aug 18, 2007
Posts: 502

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2009 3:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah i noticed i get all kinds of pop ups now since i started using their service. i put a thread in their forum and got a response well i have no idea why you would get popups with our service. blah blah blah.
i never had them before and i use firefox. if i use ie then i get them but not with firefox. but now i get them when i try to click on a bookmark it is rediculus.
the only reason i got it is because i have my little niece living with me.
and they block porn and other stuff kids shouldn't see.

but i am thinking of finding something else.

i also noticed that opendns only works on one pc.
i even set it up to work on all of mine including my wii and ps3 but it only works on the main pc.
weird service i have no idea why they offer a network service that only works with one pc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sycuss
Beta Tester
Beta Tester


Joined: Aug 11, 2007
Posts: 2190

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2009 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm wow. this is not good. a few of u are having problems. i have it working fine on my network here at home. my moms computer downstairs has certain NSFW materials blocked. via open DNS. and its working flawlessly.

I Have two routers. one is the comcast router. the second the one that i have OPENDNS configured through is a Dlink. thats the one all the computers are connected up through.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
brose4636
Hardcore Member
Hardcore Member


Joined: Aug 18, 2007
Posts: 502

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 4:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i just got rid of them, i even emailed them to delete my account of their servers.
and they did, also i was messing with my modem looking inside it and found that i can turn on opendns within the modem but it is with some other company. that was never there before they must have slipped my modem new firmware to put this on.
so one day i might try this setup to see how it is.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Starbuck
Beta Tester
Beta Tester


Joined: Aug 19, 2007
Posts: 399
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 6:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sycuss wrote:
hmm wow. this is not good. a few of u are having problems. i have it working fine on my network here at home. my moms computer downstairs has certain NSFW materials blocked. via open DNS. and its working flawlessly.

I Have two routers. one is the comcast router. the second the one that i have OPENDNS configured through is a Dlink. thats the one all the computers are connected up through.

Same here, working fine. I did change my DNS settings on my PC locally though. My PC, XBox and Wii all use OpenDNS, while the rest of the house still uses my ISP's DNS. (Because I want to test things out before I change settings which affects other their PCs), but all is good? Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TweakForce Forum Index -> Open Forum All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Forums ©
layout-foot